our turns

21 April 2010 § 2 Comments

what we are really in is a dance,

back and fo
rth, round and rou
nd, sitting and standi
ng, faces cha
nge and belie,

and who notices how silly it looks?
who knows how silly it is?

and is ‘silly’ ‘meaningless’ or some-
thing to do with truth?

§ 2 Responses to our turns

  • Ramon says:

    I’ve been sitting with this one for awhile. The line breaks really kept me from engaging fully, even though I could appreciate the visual representation of the theme.

    I don’t know why (perhaps because life has felt more nonsensical and unsightly of late), but yesterday I reread it and it washed over my comfortably. I think it’s one of my favorites.

    • melody says:

      I just saw your comment!

      It’s funny how English trains our brains to be uncomfortable with just consonants. I hated the line breaks, too, even when i was writing it–but it wouldn’t let me even use the vowels to make a full syllable, and eventually i, too, have come to agree.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading our turns at borrowing poetry.

meta

